top of page

Cleanse to Heal


Watermelon is my favorite fruit, so when Anthony Williams came out with his newest book, Cleanse to Heal and it had a picture of a watermelon on the front of it, I couldn't resist buying it. People probably think I am crazy for starting a cleanse in the middle of a pandemic. Many people also probably think that I already eat well enough so I wouldn't need a cleanse. Why am I doing this and why now? I would counter that with why not now.

The pandemic is, for the most part, out of my control. I can wash my hands, stay home, wear a mask etc. However, I cannot control what other people are doing, only what I am. I can control how I feed my body and immune system right now. It just feels like a change is in order for my body, mind, and soul. Sometimes a cleanse can help you gain clarity. The regimen takes the guesswork out and simplifies things.

There's also a theory that the body knows how to cleanse itself and that doing an actual "cleanse" isn't really necessary. What people forget is what we are being assaulted with on a daily basis that, once again, we don't have control over. On my walk yesterday I had an epiphany of why this cleanse is important. On my way up the hill, there was a garbage truck on my left spewing out exhaust and overhead an airplane was going in for a landing. God knows what chemicals that plane emitted out. Not to mention the countless people who spray pesticides on their grass that I could smell in the air. Lot of lawn mowing this last weekend as well and if you can smell the gas, you've ingested it. So, yeah...lots going into your body that you don't want there.

Day 1 of the cleanse was typical. Lots of enthusiasm. Lots of fruit, lemon water, and vegetables. I'm not going into specifics since there are too many to list. I followed the simplified 6 day version of Anthony Williams liver cleanse which is in the cleanse to heal book. It comes with a bunch of different cleansing options to choose from based on what your symptoms are. I did have a bit of a headache in the evening. Once again, normal. Detoxing sugar I am sure.

Day 1 food was liver cleanse smoothie, watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple, mango, large salad, greens soup, Indian cauliflower and peas, and apple and oat banana breakfast cookies. I wasn't hungry.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page